Selected clips from Buzzsaw Magazine

The following articles are selected from my work at Buzzsaw Magazine, Ithaca College’s alternative student-run magazine. I have written occasionally for Buzzsaw during my time at Ithaca College. Buzzsaw‘s style as a magazine allows writers to include their personal perspectives into their articles and draw on their own experiences.

Click on the headlines to read the full stories and view any multimedia content that may accompany the article.

Coast-to-coast Climate March: Marchers will walk 3,000 miles to promote change

April 3, 2014

On March 1, an uncommon thing happened in Los Angeles; it down poured rain for hours. This area rarely sees much rain in March, and when it does it’s usually not torrential.

While most people took cover, about 50 people slogged onward in calf-deep and sometimes knee-deep water. Just hours earlier in beautiful, sunny weather they had set out on their 3,000 mile journey across the country, taking the first of about 7 million steps in the direction of Washington, D.C. to raise awareness about climate change.

Beyond stereotypes: demystifying Wicca

December 11, 2013

“Anything outside of Christianity is an abomination.”

These were the words my high school science teacher said in front of the whole class, and four years later I still remember the look on her face as she said them. She was looking right at me with a stony, cold gaze. When I looked to my classmates for support, they all pretended to be absorbed with work.

Restore the Fourth: Fighting for privacy in the information age

November 7, 2013

On July 4 of this year, I exercised my First Amendment right to peaceably assemble as a part of the “Restore the Fourth” movement. I gathered with about 200 others in Rochester, N.Y., along with about 10,000 people nationwide, to demand that my Fourth Amendment rights be protected.

